Around the world in Nigeria (Southern)


Ministry Snapshots

  • Overview

    Scripture Union, which started in 1867 in England, came into Nigeria in 1885. We celebrated 100 years of operation in Nigeria in 1985 with nine Travelling Secretaries. Today there are 37 serving Travelling Secretaries, 10 Regional Coordinators and five Heads of Departments covering the landscape of Scripture Union mission work in Nigeria.

    Scripture Union Nigeria operates in 4,707 secondary schools, 1,050 primary schools and 148 higher institutions with 122,004 students and 7,023 undergraduates.

    Each year, the Union carries out Long Vacation Camps for children in primary and secondary schools. We were able to reach 47,243 students and 21,112 pupils during the last Long Vacation Camp, held in 215 centres Nationwide. 12,190 indicated interest to follow Christ.

    Apart from Annual Holiday Camps, S. U. Organizes:

    • Rallies for Schools
    • Morning Devotion in Schools
    • Leadership Training for Student Leaders
    • Workshops for School Leavers
    • Squash Parties and Sword Drills
    • Quizzes
    • Bible Study fellowship meetings in Schools
    • Counselling / school visits
    • Publication and distribution of Christian Literature /Devotionals for members and the entire Christian community
    • Family Ministries, among others
    • Support to churches

Contact Details

  • Head Office

    Oyo Road (Opposite Old Airport)
    PO Box 4011 (UI) Post Office
    Ibadan, Oyo State

    Tel (Press & Books): +234 817 450 4318

    • Leadership

      National Chair: Dr Willy Onu

      National Vice Chair: Gbele Olugbebi

      National Council Secretary: Odicha’ Ude

      Asst. Council Secretary: Monday T. Joshua

      National Treasurer: Samuel Adeogun

      National Prayer Secretary: Victoria C. Onu

      National Legal Adviser: Benjamin A. Ehimare

      General Director: Odelana Phillips

    • Press & Books

      Chairperson: Cyril Harry

      Managing Director: Emmanuel Ekurumadu

      Accountant: Toyin Bolarinwa

      Assistant Production Manager: Franklin Agbai

      General Manager: Goddy Egu

      Secretary/Admin Officer: Olufunke Osho

    • Abia

      Travelling Secretary (Aba): Ozioma Nwanesi

      Travelling Secretary (Ohafia): Samuel Okoroafor

      Travelling Secretary (Umuaiha): Kingsley Okoroafor

    • Akwa Ibom

      Regional Coordinator: Earnest Onyenagbaha

      Administrative Secretary: Vacant

      Travelling Secretary (Ikot Ekpene): Uchenna Peter Nwokocha

      Travelling Secretary (Malabar): Mfon Asoquo

      Travelling Secretary (Uyo): Hilary Emem Bassey

    • Anambra

      Regional Coordinator: Vacant

      Administrative Secretary: Stella Ezeliora

      Travelling Secretary (Aguata): David Obuo

      Travelling Secretary (Awka): Ngozi Dallah

      Travelling Secretary (Nnewi): Abraham Eyeruroma

      Travelling Secretary (Onitsha): Matins Anekwe

    • Bayelsa

      Travelling Secretary (Yenagoa): Patrick Okoh

    • Benue

      Travelling Secretary (Makurdi): Ephraim Ahoada

    • Cross Rivers

      Travelling Secretary (Ikom): Kingsley Umana

    • Delta

      Travelling Secretary (Agbor): Chijoke Okoroafor

      Travelling Secretary (Warri): Israel O. Akhaine

    • Ebonyi

      Travelling Secretary (Abakiliki): Uchenna Eyinnaya

      Travelling Secretary (Afikpo): Wilson Ojei

    • Edo

      Regional Coordinator: Kayode Oluniran

      Travelling Secretary (Auchi): Gigeon Okike

      Travelling Secretary (Benin): Patrick Oguh

    • Ekiti

      Travelling Secretary (Ekiti): Samuel Adeyanju

    • Enugu

      Regional Coordinator: Ferdinand Esokawu

      Administrative Secretary: Gift Eyinnaya

      Travelling Secretary (Enugu): Odinaka Egwu

      Travelling Secretary (Ngwo): Peter Ayeni

      Travelling Secretary (Nsukka): Uwem Cosmos

    • Federal Capital Territory

      Regional Coordinator: Fidelis Obianozie

      Travelling Secretary (Abuja): Joseph Sinkalu

    • Imo

      Regional Coordinator: John Nwoha

      Administrative Secretary: Uzoma Maduka

      National Camp of Faith (Okigwe): Ndubuisi Onwuka

      Travelling Secretary (Okigwe): Chris Eke

      Travelling Secretary (Orlu): Vacant

      Travelling Secretary (Owerri): Enefiok Umoren

    • Lagos

      Regional Coordinator: Mark Osang

      Administrative Assistant: Violet Oko-Ogoh

      Travelling Secretary (IIkeja): Ndubuisi Okwum

      Travelling Secretary (Lagos): Kingsley Ibekwe

    • Ogun

      Travelling Secretary (Abeokuta): Dele Gbenga Ige

    • Ondo

      Regional Coordinator: Patrick N. Ogbebor

      Travelling Secretary (Akure): Samson Akende

    • Osun

      Regional Coordinator: Sunday E. Okonna

      Administrative Assistant: Vacant

      Travelling Secretary (Osogbo): Celestine Obiagwe

    • Oyo

      Travelling Secretary (Oyo): Aigbomian Uyi-Osa

    • Plateau

      Travelling Secretary (Jos): Emmanuel Ajayi

    • Rivers

      Regional Coordinator: Yinka Liveth Aderibigbe

      Administrative Secretary: Itoro Sunday

      Travelling Secretary (Ahoada): Samuel Ikoyi

      Travelling Secretary (Eleme): Edwin N. C. Okoro

      Travelling Secretary (Port Harcourt): Osondu Nwosu

Send a message to Scripture Union Nigeria

Contact (country)

Please give generously

Your gift will help us to transform the lives of children in Nigeria (Southern)

All about Nigeria (Southern)

  • Population


  • Religions

    Muslim 50%, Christian 40%, Indigenous Beliefs 10%

  • Population under 15


  • Official languages